Absolute Zero (2005)

Nomination Year: 2012
SYNOPSIS:  Did you know that the ice age will be caused by a shift in the magnetic poles? And that it will freeze everything from the equator to the 33rd parallel? And that afterward the poles will be the new tropics and we'll have a ring of ice around the Earth's midsection? And that when all molecular motion stops, light refracts differently, causing a shroud of darkness to fall?

So, yes. "Absolute Zero" is not just the title of the movie, it's also a description of exactly how much accurate science it contains.

Fortunately for us, bad science is good fun. As is bad acting. And pointless character deaths, lousy premises and dreadful special effects. And this movie has all of those in vast quantities.

Most Ludicrous Premise

He's a Senator from the state of Equatoria.
The computer simulation of a magnetic polar shift shows that complete equatorial glaciation will happen in 4 hours and 23 minutes. It's going to happen later today, probably, and the temperature will drop to absolute zero. "Senator," Dr Kotzman says in all seriousness, "you need to evacuate the equator!"

Smithee Award Winner! Worst Science

Also it reduces IQs to zero.
To test what will happen when the earth's magnetic poles swap, they are flipping the magnetic polarity of a small test room. To their (and our!) astonishment, the temperature drops almost instantly to absolute zero ("most unexpected"). At absolute zero, it changes how light refracts -- only at the coldest end of the spectrum. Why? "Because science is never wrong."

Actors/Directors of Note
Actor Claim to Fame
Jeff Fahey Was the Lawnmower Man, and turns up as a leading man in a bunch of other Bad Movies -- his first role was in Silverado 
Erika Eleniak Her first film role was as "Pretty Young Girl" in E.T. the Extraterrestrial
Director Claim to Fame
Robert Lee He was the assistant director of several Smithee films, always behind the scenes, waiting... 

Matt Quirk

To the Film Gallery Return to Lobby
[Smithee Film Gallery] [Return to Lobby]

© 2011-2019 Bryan D. Cassidy, Greg Pearson, Matthew Quirk, and Kevin Hogan. All Rights Reserved.